SU football: Division II Conference honors Montross

Division II
Jaxon Montross

The 2021 Division II Conference Commissioners Association (D2CCA) named Shippensburg University freshman place kicker Jaxson Montross (Tunkhannock, Pa./Tunkhannock Area) to the All-Super Region 1 Second Team, as voted on by the region’s sports information directors.

Montross is the first SU place kicker chosen for the All-Region team since Jamie Reder earned All-Region First Team honors in 2005. (Kyler Ford was an All-Region punter in 2009 and 2006).

This season, Montross was 15-of-21 on field-goal attempts, missing only once on a kick attempt under 40 yards. His 15 field goals rank second in the Pennsylvania State Athletic Conference (PSAC). He has a tie for the second-most in SU single-season history. His 85 points by kicking also rank second in the PSAC and are the second-most in SU single-season history.

Additionally, Montross’s 50-yard field goal in the season opener is the longest field goal in school history. He also converted 40-of-43 point-after attempts (PATs), including 20-in-a-row to conclude the season.

Thursday’s honor is the second of the postseason for Montross. He is also on the 2021 All-PSAC Eastern Division First Team. That honor came in November.

READ: SU sports briefs: Two Raiders honored by league

Region teams

The Division II All-Atlantic Region Teams are prestigious in that there are a small number of honorees; only 25 players make up the First Team classifications. Another 25 players make up the Second Team. Of the offensive skill positions for example, just two quarterbacks, four running backs, four wide receivers and two tight ends represent the best of Super Region 1. That region includes all the football schools in four conferences (PSAC, MEC, NE-10, G-MAC).

Cal U freshman Anthony Beitko is the First Team kicker. Beitko led the PSAC with 16 field goals and a .941 field-goal percentage (16-of-17) while scoring 86 points by kicking.

Of the 50 players selected to the 2021 D2CCA All-Atlantic Region Teams, 23 were from the PSAC, 10 from the G-MAC, 10 from the NE-10 and seven from the MEC.