IUP recognizes county students

Local students

IUP (Indiana University of Pennsylvania) has recognized nine Franklin County students as Provost Scholars.

Students must complete a minimum of 45 semester hours at IUP and have a cumulative grade point average of 3.5 or higher to achieve Provost Scholar status.  It is given only once during a student’s time of study at IUP.

A complete listing of Provost Scholars is available on IUP’s website.

READ: Franklin County: Students named to IUP Dean’s list

Provost Scholars from this area include:


  • Ian Curtis Decker, Candice Lane, B.S. in Communications Media/Media Production
  • Kristin Renee Embly, Hamilton Hills Drive, B.S. in Interior Design
  • Ariel Love Mellott, Scotland Avenue, B.S. in Speech-Language Pathology and Audiology
  • Keith Elijah Thomas, Zircon Drive, B.F.A. in Music Performance
  • Elijah G. Vanier, Hamilton Road, B.S.Ed. in Social Studies/History


  • Hannah Alissa Miller, Pine Ridge Lane, B.S.Ed. in Health and Physical Education/K-12 Teacher Education


  • Cierra N. Burger, East Madison Street, B.S. in Nursing
  • Karlee Brooke Salmon, Nancy Avenue, B.S. in Interior Design
  • Hannah M. Zomak, Rice Hollow Road, B.S. in Nursing

IUP is a member of Pennsylvania’s State System of Higher Education