Franklin County: Proclaimed National Public Safety Telecommunicators Week

National Public Safety Telecommunicators Week

April 10-16, 2022, to be National Public Safety Telecommunicators Week in Franklin County and are highlighting the vital role these dispatchers play in protecting lives, preserving property and ensuring the safety of everyone involved in emergency situations Franklin County Commissioners said.

READ: Hogan: Prosecutor wanted – no experience necessary?

Why We Do It

When emergencies occur, public safety telecommunicators are the first and most critical contact callers have with emergency responders. These dispatchers must correctly gather and relay accurate information directly to police officers, firefighters and emergency medical services (EMS) to ensure their prompt response to the scene of an emergency. Telecommunicators also serve as a vital resource for those responding agencies by monitoring their radio activity and by providing them with critical information.

Locally, the Franklin County Department of Emergency Services (DES) handles all aspects of call receipt and processing for fire, EMS and law enforcement agencies – with the exception of the Pennsylvania State Police Chambersburg Barracks – to 22 municipalities in the county. In 2021, DES processed 112,812 phone calls, and 96% of all 9-1-1 calls were answered in less than 10 seconds.

Commissioner Chairman Dave Keller

“We are so proud of the work of our public safety telecommunicators,” said Commissioner Chairman Dave Keller. “Every day they play an indispensable role in the apprehension of criminals, the suppression of fires and the treatment of patients, always doing so with compassion, understanding and professionalism.”

By recognizing National Public Safety Telecommunicators Week in Franklin County, the commissioners are encouraging everyone to recognize and thank these men and women whose diligence and professionalism keep Franklin County and its residents safe.

You will see in the photo

911 training and quality coordinator William Smith; Franklin County Commissioner John Flannery; Franklin County DES back-up shift supervisor Barbara Harshman; Franklin County DES Director Jacob Crider; and Commissioner Chairman Dave Keller. Commissioner Bob Ziobrowski attended the presentation virtually.