Ross: Connecting Employers with Educational Providers

FCADC

The number one issue facing Franklin County employers is a lack of available employees.  Regardless of the industry sector, employers are struggling to recruit and retain workers, which in turn has created operational challenges. 

Employers have increased wages, expanded benefits, and provided greater scheduling flexibility all with mixed results.  The fact is that, in Franklin County, there are currently two job openings for every available job seeker.  

What can employers do to recruit more prospective employees who are eager for the opportunity to prove themselves?  Simply stated, make connections with our local schools, both secondary and post-secondary. 

READ: The Greater Chambersburg Chamber Foundation: Leadership Program Graduates 14

Whether it is our six public school districts, the Franklin County CareerTech, Penn State Mont Alto, Wilson College Shippensburg University, or our private parochial schools such as Shalom Christian Academy or the Cumberland Valley Christian School, they are all preparing students for the workforce.  There are myriad programs capable of placing students with employers, however if you are unaware of them, you obviously cannot take advantage of them. 

Advertisement

We have young energetic students who are looking for opportunities, but like employers who are unaware of the untapped potential roaming the schools, many of them are unaware of the number and diversity of Franklin County employers.  

So, how do you make those connections?  Below is a contact list of the workforce development coordinators for the respective educational providers

REACH OUT AND CONTACT THEM BECAUSE THEY WANT TO CONNECT AS MUCH AS YOU DO. 

It can be transformative for your business to establish a talent pipeline to address current needs as well as future ones.  

Andrea Mills
K-12 Career Readiness Coordinator 
Chambersburg Area School District
435 Stanley Avenue
Chambersburg, PA  17201
(717) 261-3322 ext. 80505
andrea.mills@casdonline.org
Thomas Hoffman
Cooperative Education Coordinator
Waynesboro Area Senior High School
550 East Second Street
Waynesboro, PA  17268
(717) 762-1191 ext. 2302
thomas_hoffman@wasdpa.org
Krista Akers
Teacher
Shippensburg Area Senior High School
201 Eberly Drive
Shippensburg, PA  17257
(717) 532-2730 ext. 9202
krista.akers@ship.k12.pa.us
Amy Hershey
Business Director
Tuscarora School District
100 West Seminary Street
Mercersburg, PA  17236
(717) 328-3127 ext. 2805ahershey@tsdrockets.org
Jen Everetts
School Counselor
Greencastle-Antrim High School
300 South Ridge Avenue
Greencastle, PA  17225
(717) 597-3226 ext. 10522
jleveretts@greencastle.k12.pa.us
Mindy Hill
Business Education
Fannett Metal High School
14823 Path Valley Road
Willow Hill, PA  17271
(717) 349-7172
hillm@fmtigers.com
Linda Boeckman
Director of Career Development
Wilson College
1015 Philadelphia Avenue
Chambersburg, PA  17201
(717) 262-2616
linda.boeckman@wilson.edu
Helen McGarry
Director of Continuing Education
Penn State University –
Mont Alto 1 Campus Drive
Mont Alto, PA  17237
(717) 749-4118
hem11@psu.edu
Loralee Isbell
Executive Director
Career, Mentoring & Professional Development
Shippensburg University
1871 Old Main Drive
Shippensburg, PA  17257
(717) 477-1348 ext. 3275
lisbelll@ship.edu
Amy Garvin
Principal
Cumberland Valley Christian School
600 Miller Street
Chambersburg, PA  17201
(717) 264-3266
agarvin@cvcsblazers.com
Angela Petersheim
Administrator
Shalom Christian Academy
126 Social Island Road
Chambersburg, PA  17202
(717) 375-2223
apetersheim@schalomca.com
Kathy Estep
Workforce Development Coordinator
Franklin County CareerTech
2463 Loop Road
Chambersburg, PA  17202
(717) 263-9033 ext. 233
kathy.estep@franklinctc.com
Comments