Shreve will head WellSpan board


SCCAP’s Megan Shreve will head the new WellSpan Health board of directors, the regional health organization announced this week.

Other new 2021 board members include Elaine Bonneau, Richard Broadbent, Laurie Carter, Richard Farr, Stephan Holoviak and Hilda Shirk.

“We are thrilled to welcome a dynamic and diverse group of board members who will bring fresh perspective and insight to our work,” said WellSpan president and CEO Roxanna Gapstur. “The breadth and depth of their expertise will be paramount as we focus on delivering convenient and affordable care, addressing community health needs and cultivating a diverse and inclusive workforce.”

The newly appointed board members bring decades of experience in manufacturing, finance, education, transportation, and health care fields. They represent a variety of regional communities within the WellSpan system. Chair-elect Shreve has been actively involved with WellSpan Health since 2010; and will leverage this experience to oversee the strategic direction of the organization.

READ: COVID-19: Demand strong for vaccine

“I am honored to be selected as chair for the leading health care system in South Central Pennsylvania,” said Shreve. “WellSpan Health continues to be an innovative organization with a clear vision for serving the evolving needs of patients and families in the communities they serve.”

The WellSpan Health Board of Directors is a volunteer governing board tasked with oversight of WellSpan Health. Members are elected to three-year terms, with officer terms lasting one year. The board serves as the parent board of WellSpan Health.

READ: Caring for pandemic patients: Medical residents learning valuable lessons

New board members include:

Shreve will head WellSpan board
Megan Shreve
Megan Shreve, CEO, South-Central Community Action Programs

Shreve is the CEO of South-Central Community Action Programs (SCCAP), a non-profit that provides critical human services and community engagement work in the region. Prior to her role at SCCAP, she was employed with Deloitte. Shreve has worked on several WellSpan boards in the past including Healthy Adams County Board, Gettysburg Hospital Board, chair of WellSpan Planning Committee and Vice Chair of WellSpan Health’s Board of Directors.

Shreve will head WellSpan board
Hilda Shirk
Hilda Shirk, Ph.D., Retired, former President & CEO of Lancaster Health Center

Dr. Shirk is a consultant to the Lancaster Chamber and Economic Development Company; providing expertise and resources to mitigate the public health impact of COVID-19 on businesses.

aaPrior to retirement, she was President & CEO of Lancaster Health Center, a federally qualified health center delivering primary care and dental services in Lancaster.

Elaine Bonneau
Elaine Bonneau, Director, Downtown Inc

Bonneau currently serves as the Director of Downtown Inc, the business improvement organization for the City of York and an affiliate of the York County Economic Alliance. In this role, she leads daily operations and serves as the primary point of contact for the business community and other city stakeholders.

Bonneau has a background in advertising, marketing and business development, and has worked with local and national companies, government agencies and non-profit organizations.

Shreve will head WellSpan board
Richard Broadbent
Richard Broadbent, President, Bench Dogs

Broadbent is the President and Owner of Bench Dogs where he oversees the company’s growth and development as a supplier to the U.S. custom display and store fixture industry and commercial case good markets. Previously, he held roles at Baldwin Hardware Corporation and Dorman Products.

He previously served on the WellSpan Ephrata Community Hospital Board.

Laurie Carter

Laurie Carter, J.D., President, Shippensburg University

Carter is the 17th President of Shippensburg University, guiding the university with an intensive focus on student success. Her vision has paved the way for creating a first-generation college students’ program, a comprehensive student success center and an academic center for student athletes.

Relentless in her dedication to success for all students, she has advanced innovative diversity and inclusion efforts including a state-wide Black Male Symposium, establishing a PRIDE Center and is developing an anti-racism institute.

Prior to this role, she served as executive vice president and university counsel for Eastern Kentucky University.

Shreve will head WellSpan board
Richard Farr
Richard Farr, Executive Director, rabbittransit and Capital Area Transit

Farr is the Executive Director of rabbittransit and Capital Area Transit, a regional public transportation provider serving the residents of 11 Central Pennsylvania counties. He has served on several transportation board and advisory committees and was named a Commissioner on Governor Corbett’s Transportation Funding Advisory Commission.

He was most recently appointed to the National Transit Institute’s Advisory Board.

Stephen Holoviak, Ph.D., Retired, Penn State University, Mont Alto

Dr. Holoviak is a retired professor of Management and Leadership at Penn State University, Mont Alto, where he taught senior-level business courses. Prior to this, he was a long-tenure dean of the John. L. Grove College of Businesses at Shippensburg University. He also spent portions of his career at Merrill Lynch and First National Bank. Holoviak is also a prominent author who has published academic books, novels, instruction manuals, and articles in various journals and trade magazines.

WellSpan Health 2021 Board of Directors

  • Megan Shreve, Chair, CEO, South-Central Community Action Programs
  • Hilda Shirk, Ph.D., Vice Chair, Retired, former President & CEO of Lancaster Health Center
  • Elaine Bonneau, Director, Downtown Inc
  • Richard Broadbent, President, Bench Dogs
  • Peter Brubaker, President, Hammer Creek Enterprises, LLC
  • Laurie Carter, J.D., President, Shippensburg University
  • Joe Crosswhite, Senior Vice President, M&T Bank
  • Donald Dreibelbis, President, Meyer Oil Company
  • Philip Fague, C.P.A., Executive Vice President, Wealth Management and Mortgage, Orrstown Bank
  • Richard Farr, Executive Director, rabbittransit and Capital Area Transit
  • William Funk, D.M.D., Cocalico Dental
  • Roxanna Gapstur, Ph.D., R.N., President and CEO, WellSpan Health
  • R. Fred Groff, III, President and Director, Groff-High-Eckenroth Funeral Home, Inc.
  • Roy William Happel, Retired, Vice President, General Motors Corp.
  • Stephen Holoviak, Ph.D., Retired, Penn State University, Mont Alto
  • Paul Minnich, Esq., Partner, Law Firm of Barley Snyder
  • Linda Pugh, Ph.D., R.N.C., F.A.A.N., Retired, Professor, University of North Carolina Wilmington