Franklin County : Six Nursing Scholarships Awarded to Area High School Graduates


The Franklin County Commissioners are pleased to announce the 2022 recipients of the county’s nursing scholarship program. Six area high school graduates will each receive a one-time $2,500 scholarship to
pursue a career in nursing.

READ: Mercersburg Printing Goes Solar

Scholarship Program

Since 2017, the scholarship program has provided financial assistance to 36 Franklin County high school seniors pursuing a bachelor’s degree in nursing. Scholarships are funded by proceeds from the 2013 sale of the county nursing home.

Students receiving scholarships this year are:

  • Mia Estep, a graduate of Shippensburg Area Senior High School, who will be attending East Strouds
  • burg University
  • Sadie Garbinski, a graduate of James Buchanan High School, who will be attending Montana State 
  • University
  • Paige Himes, a graduate of Chambersburg Area Senior High School, who will be attending Penn 
  • State Mont Alto
  • Emma Johnson, a graduate of Greencastle-Antrim High School, who will be attending
  • Shenandoah University
  • Allison List, a graduate of Chambersburg Area Senior High School, who will be attending St. John
  • Fisher College
  • Lauren Miller, a graduate of Shippensburg Area Senior High School, who will be attending Messiah University

Franklin County Commissioner Chairman

“Year after year, we continue to be impressed by the caliber of our local high school seniors who consistently display not only remarkable academic talent but also an admirable passion for helping others,” said Franklin County Commissioner Chairman Dave Keller. “There continues to be a demand for skilled nurses in our local hospitals and healthcare facilities, and our hope is that these scholarship recipients will one day
return to Franklin County to put their nursing skills and education to good use.”

About the Scholarship

Applicants must submit an essay briefly indicating their short- and long-term goals
pertaining to nursing school, along with a scholarship application, an official high school
transcript and three letters of reference, including one from their high school guidance
counselors. Students must have a minimum 2.5 GPA, participate in both extracurricular
and community service activities, and demonstrate a financial need for the scholarship.


Elyse Fisler, chief nursing officer for WellSpan’s Chambersburg and Waynesboro
hospitals, and Monica Diehl, chief nursing officer of Keystone Health, assisted the
Franklin County human resources department in selecting this year’s recipients. There
were 20 eligible applicants for the 2022 scholarship.

Applications for the Franklin County Nursing Scholarship are available in the first
quarter of each year. For more information, contact the Franklin County Human
Resources Department at 717-261-3150 or visit